My Garden this week….


Its been almost 7 weeks since I last posted about the goings on in my garden, in my last garden post I told you about my Hedgehog visitor who I suspected had expired soon after coming out of hibernation.

Unfortunately I was right and the Hedgehog had died, but there is some good news, more on that later in the blog.

Since my last Garden post, we have had High winds, snow, hail, frost and scorching hot days.  We are averaging below temperatures for this time of year, and planting out my tender plants has been a challenge.

Crab Apple blossom
Crab Apple blossom

My Malus ‘evereste’ has had the best showing of blossom I’ve seen, admittedly this is its 2nd year in my garden.

So far I’ve planted out three quarters of my tender plants, and I’ve gone a bit over the top with hanging baskets with a total of 7 planted up, and 1 still in the greenhouse due to lack of wall hooks. I’ve always liked hanging baskets, but I’m not sure why, I think it might have something to do with gardening with my parents who got me interested in horticulture when I was younger.

Ferny Fronds
Ferny Fronds

Everything in the garden is really motoring now its warmed up, my Fern collection has burst into life, and my Hosta collection appears to have all made it through the winter.

Hosta June
Hosta June

The slugs have made short work of some of my annuals which I planted out into the ground, so I don’t think I will get carried away so much next year and raise less plants………………  famous last words.

I recently visited a Flower Power Plant fair near me and purchased a few nice plants for the garden. The plants I purchased from the Malvern Spring Show are doing well, and I m finding it odd planting out summer plants with the Spring plants still looking so good.

Daffodils
Daffodils

I never know what to do with finished Daffodils and Tulips grown in pots, I need to use the pots to plant out some summer plants once I’ve found some decent compost to purchase.

Myositis still doing well.
Myositis still doing well.

My long fence border is bursting into life, and I’m running out of places to squeeze any more plants in, so I think I will have to just leave to plants to grow on now and see how they get on.

Fence border, Spot the Hanging baskets.
Fence border, Spot the Hanging baskets.

My sunny hot bed is also filling up with plants putting on a growth spurt….

Filling up.
Filling up.

My Alliums in this bed have started to flower..

i pod 011

And another of my favourite plants has made an appearance.

Mouse Tail Plant.
Mouse Tail Plant.

Lots to get done over the next few weeks, plants I’ve bought need planting, the rest of my tender, annual and bedding plants need planting out, I also need to find a nice prominent spot for the one hanging basket still hanging in the greenhouse.

 

And finally, that bit of good news…….

After my resident hedgehog died, I cleaned out the Hog boxes I have in my garden and re-filled them with fresh straw and left them in case any passing wildlife need a refuge.

I did not have to wait long for the tell tale piles of hedgehog poo around the garden, I purchased some hedgehog food from Wiggly Wigglers which has a proven record for hedgehogs in my area, and I set out my wildlife camera to see what passed by.

Result.!

Hedgehog..!!
Hedgehog..!!

I’ve actually been able to confirm two Hedgehogs are currently visiting my garden, 1 big one and 1 little one.

 

Sorry its been a brief blog, when you work in Horticulture the warmer months tend to be the busiest.!

7 thoughts on “My Garden this week….

Add yours

  1. I have lots of spare pots collected over the years so I leave my tulips in the pots when they have gone over and put them out of the way somewhere, like behind the shed. I know we have a hedgehog in the garden because my husband found the cat looking at it one night from a safe distance! Your pics are really good:)

    Like

  2. We used to have hedgehogs but we have not had one visit (that we know of) for some time now, I really like your wildlife camera photo, it must have been quite exciting to see your new hedgehogs on camera.

    Like

Feel Free to Leave a Comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑